I know it has been quite some time since I was able to post a blog, but I’ve been coming across this Paige promo “pipebomb” thing on my social media news feeds a lot, and I felt like I had a fair amount to say. I’d love to keep these going or make this a thing I do whenever I have the chance, so if there’s any parts of WWE Television shows that anyone would like my insight or consideration on, let me know in comments or tweet me (@NathanC493) and I’ll see what I can do about answering those questions as soon as possible. Anyway, here’s what I think about Paige’s promo on last night’s Monday Night Raw:


I don’t see what the big deal is about the Paige promo. It was some good words, and I certainly hope it carries the feud forward, but I felt like it wasn’t as enthralling as people seem to think. It felt forced like Paige was reciting something rather than speaking from the heart. It just felt forced. Psuedo-shoot is what I’d call it. Not that she needs to legit shoot, but it didn’t have the same feel as like other promos like it. I hope she gets more comfortable talking like that because it almost felt unnatural, but I know she can do it. I also really hope the rumors are wrong about a triple threat at Hell in a Cell because I’d much rather see Paige go up against “What about Team BAD?” Sasha Banks, the returning “Kidd Nurse” Natalya or the “I’ll show you who is least relevant!” Becky Lynch while Charlotte survives Nikki’s rematch than see Paige simply insert herself into a title match for no reason.

If John Cena cut a single promo that everyone thought was God’s gift to talking (which could still happen regardless of opinion on John Cena), would the same people singing Paige’s praises do the same for Cena, if he became a third man in a title match the night after his teammate won the title just from one promo and maybe a qualifying match a couple weeks later on Raw? The Divas Revolution really shouldn’t be about “pipebombs”, we need strong female characters who can flow from story to story and feud to feud just like the men do.

Cesaro vs. Owens started right in the middle of Owens’ feud with Cena for the United States title. Owens and Cena traded wins on PPV while Cena and Cesaro tore the house down on Raw at least twice. After Owens and Cena’s feud ended and Cena faced Rollins champ vs. champ at SummerSlam, Cesaro and Owens continued to feud. They went one on one once and for all at SummerSlam and Owens came out on top. Night of Champions rolled around and Owens turned an attempt at the US title into the IC title itself! Rusev even got involved in the middle of his feud while Ziggler was written out and that even kept him relevant while also making the US title look like something everyone wanted.

If Paige really wants to go after Charlotte, then she needs to put that out there, but wait until Nikki’s rematch comes and goes. In the meantime, she can send Charlotte a message by sending Becky to the hospital, and when they’re done with that, the returning Nattie may want her shot at Charlotte so maybe Sasha would have something to say to Paige – or vice versa. There could easily be something brewed up between the Bellas against Naomi and Tamina. If the story for Paige resembles the one time Victoria marked every diva off a list on a clipboard, then maybe Alicia and Sasha fall victim to Paige on her war path. Becky could make a big comeback at a major PPV to go after Paige for sending her to the hospital the last time they faced each other.

I still feel like the best route to a true Divas Revolution is to put them on par with the guys. Maybe a third divas match on a card could be a stretch, but Bellas vs. Naomi and Tamina while Paige faces Sasha for #1 contendership while Natalya challenges Charlotte for the Divas title would put women on like half the card, and that’s where I’d like to see it go from here, but the promo on Raw didn’t give me any of those feelings that I usually get when I see or hear a promo that could be called a “pipebomb”.

There are so many directions these ladies could go with the story right now, but after the promo last night, I don’t really care to see Paige factored into any of them without actually facing Becky in a story of depth and considerable length (Not just one match on Raw) and Paige going on a tear through the division until no one is left except herself and Charlotte. One of the divas division’s biggest problems is match length and one of WWE’s biggest problems is jumping the gun on the biggest feuds. Slow burns are exactly what the divas could use right now. It builds characters (especially new ones like Charlotte, Becky, and Sasha) and can really flesh out the field and establish an actual division as opposed to the flavor of the month hot streak , who based on the reaction the promo got, is currently Paige.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments if you can, or respond to me on social media.

Also, if you like seeing Raw Review on Entertainment Escape, let me know about that too. I’m always looking for new content to add to my blog.

If there’s a topic about Raw, Smackdown, or anything WWE-related, shoot me a tweet, comment here on WordPress, or add it to the Facebook post where you found this article and I’ll consider it for future blogs.

I’d also be interested in opening the conversation up to other avenues of entertainment that I enjoy such as trading card games, video games, and TV/Movies. Share this blog with anyone you know who enjoys those things as well.

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to your feedback.

