Photo Source: http://th03.deviantart.net/fs71/PRE/i/2014/158/d/a/mega_hoenn_starters_by_shinyscyther-d7lg15w.png

Source Text: http://bulbanews.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Delta_Episode_details_revealed

Today, I came across the above article considering the new Delta Episode for Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire, the newest release in the Nintendo video game franchise Pokemon. These games are set to release November 21, and the information has been pouring in since E3 and Comic-Con as to what we can expect to see in this return to the Hoenn region (which celebrates the 10th anniversary of the original Game Boy Advanced games based in that region).

My cousin informed me many months ago that, according to the closest thing to an established canon timeline in the Pokemon universe, the original Hoenn games are in more of a distant history than Johto or even Kanto. As I was reading about what is to be expected of Delta Episode specifcally. My mind started reeling about what this could mean for Hoenn as a whole.

Assuming Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald (the ’04 games) are in fact ancient history as far as the Pokemon universe is considered, the fact that Delta Episode is going to start some 3,000 years prior to the events of Alpha and Omega and still mention Mega Evolutions and Key Stones is really fascinating. Mega Evolutions weren’t even a thing when the ’04 games were released, but to think that they were a part of Hoenn history the entire time is really freakin’ cool! I really wonder now if Delta Episode will end with something about keeping Mega Evolution hidden from the people of Hoenn or like erasing it from the history books to save lives in an attempt to thwart Team Aqua or Magma.

The little writer in me is absolutely blown away today by the sheer consideration of the possibility of such dynamic continuity that I just had to share it with everyone. Plus, a lacrosse ball turned poke ball has been my little avatar screenshot since this blog started. Pokemon has been a part of my life since I was a child, and it doesn’t seem to be going away any time soon. It’s part of my continuity, just as much as I admired it’s continuity – even if over half of this is complete speculation.

What do you guys think? For those who are familiar with the pokemon universe, do you think this could be a viable theory, or do you have other ideas? For those who aren’t so familiar with the world of pokemon, would you agree that this is kinda cool if it could be true? Do any of you have fandoms with intricate backgrounds or continuity? Would you like to learn more about what continuity is? Subtle features in film, television, and even books are so fascinating because history gives it reality and that’s the kind of thing I love to see. If anyone knows of something they like to read or watch and would like to share, I would love to geek out with you whether I’m caught up on your universe or not. Please leave comments below.

Follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/NathanC493) and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/officialacespade) to catch all of my quirk, compulsion, and contemplation. You’ll also never miss a blog because each one is shared directly through my social media outlets as soon as I click Publish.

Thanks for reading and I hope to see you again real soon!

