Hello again, friends and followers. I realize that it has been quite some time since I have graced you with anything of substance. I also realize that most of my content revolves around the WWE. In an effort to diversify my material and to reconnect with my audience, I have decided to share the following poem from my English 101 class that I found on my laptop the other day. I encourage comments either to the blog, on Facebook, or via Twitter with anything from simple compliments on my work if you like what you see to suggestions of topics that I may be able to divulge further in future posts. Until a new posts finds me, please enjoy “Where I’m From” (Fall 2012) by your’s truly:

Where I’m From

I am from the South

I am from Sweet Tea and porch swings

From Cardinals, hummingbirds and dogwoods

From the mountains and the molehills

The Piedmont is my home

 

I am from Pokemon and Yu-gi-oh

From Saturday mornings in front of the TV

Three to six hours at a time

Trading cards and creatures

Like a peddler looking for one good steal

 

I am from “help yourself” and

“You know I don’t care.”

From the “Good Ol’ King James”

And Sunday is for God

From football after church

 

I am from waking only in time for dinner

Getting to sleep just before the sun rises

I am from a different time zone, or so it seems

From “Get up and help your Pappaw,”

Regardless of how much sleep I’ve had

