It’s been a while since my last blog post, but I missed being away from my blog. Today, I’ve experienced something brand new. Today, I spent most of the day with my girlfriend, in her dorm…which is a rare occasion indeed.

It all started with the snow day that cancelled classes prior to 11:15am. Unfortunately, I slept through my 11:15am class, but I’m human. As long as my mistake doesn’t kill me, I’ll be okay. So after that I decided to visit her room before realizing that she had asked me to come over anyway. I arrived at her room around 3pm after I got some food and didn’t leave her room until some time close to 1am. Along the walk back, I reminisced on the laughs we shared, the fun we had, and even the silent moments when I could just enjoy her beauty, but I also realized that one of my ALL-TIME favorite shows, Psych, had an huge cliff-hanger at the end of the season and I have yet to catch up since it returned at the end of February.(NO SPOILERS PLEASE) For the first time in my life, I was okay with missing a show.

My life has always involved or incorporated television to an extent, but over the course of the past two weeks, I have actually reduced my schedule from at least one show per night, to the only thing I’ve watched all week was Monday Night Raw and the Bible. While I hate missing the shows, I can’t say I’d rather be watching them. Television is a great tool. As a matter of fact once I complete this article, I’m going to watch an episode or two of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic before bed, but that’s beside the point.

My point is that free time can be enjoyed in a plethora of ways. On Tuesday, I found myself at the obstacle of dropping my English 202 class. I found my limit and I simply would not benefit at all from pushing any harder than I had in the time allotted for improvement. Anyway, I had some free time. I decided to read my Bible while waiting for my Student Support Services meeting to start. In the time I had I read Galatians 6:2 which says, “Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.” (ESV). This led to an inspiration that I did not expect. On my way to meet my girlfriend during her lunch break, I saw a friend of hers who had her head down. I don’t know how I knew but something told me she had been crying. Normally, I play around with this girl by making lame jokes or staring at her in a funny/creepy way just to get under her skin a little bit, but this time was different. I wanted to show her that I cared. I kept finding myself asking her what was wrong but it didn’t matter what was wrong. She needed a hug more than she needed me in her business, so I gave her two! Then I went my way whispering a prayer for her under my breath along the way, of course. My well-spent free time gave me the chance to help someone in need feel better, and that makes me feel better, which works out well for those around me in the end. My revelation today has me looking forward to the rest of this semester and the rest of my life. I love television, but I also love being there for people. Those are two things I pride myself on in this life: Entertainment and Compassion.

Today, I was able to put the best foot forward and leave the remote tucked away while making memories that will last longer than any show on any network ever could…

